1st SBMA Board Meeting In Over 6 Months Set On Tuesday, 24 Jan., 2017


SBMA Administrator Wilma T. Eisma (3rd frm. L) faces the media with members of the Board of Directors (from right) Rogelio G. Roque, Benny Antiporda, Ma. Cecilia Bobadilla-Bitare, Stefani C. Saño (L) and Tomas F. Lahom (2nd frm. L). MPDphoto

TWO “hold-over” members of the Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority (SBMA) Board of Directors will participate on Tuesday’s scheduled Board meeting, its first in over six (6) months since President Rodrigo R. Duterte assumed power.

“Please be notified that the first meeting of the Board of Directors of the SBMA will be held on January 24, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. at the Corporate Board Room, Building 229, Waterfront Road, Subic Bay Freeport Zone,” Board Secretary Jennifer T. Guiang said in the notice sent to the Chairman, Vice Chairman/Administrator and members of the Board.

The bulk of management matters to be discussed will be from the business group.

Nominations to SBMA affiliated boards, namely, SBDMC (Taiwanese Industrial Park), Subic Techno Park (Japanese Industrial Park), Subic Bay Yacht Club, Subic Water, Subic Bay Water Regulatory Board, and Brent International School will also be taken up, as well as the Salary Standardization Law (SSL) 4 and outsourcing of janitorial and security services.

Directors Joven D. Reyes and Alfonso SP Siapno, appointees of former president Benigno S. Aquino, have been included in the notice as Board members in hold-over capacity.

Earlier, Administrator Wilma T. Eisma has told Subic Bay News that she intends to cause the SBMA Board to convene to address pressing matters that need the Board’s attention and action.

The Office of the Government Corporate Counsel (OGCC), upon query of then SBMA OIC Administrator Randy B. Escolango, has opined that old directors whose resignations have not been acted upon by the president and not replaced may be recalled to perform in hold-over capacity to constitute a quorum, that is at least eight of the 15-seat Board. The OGCC also affirmed that the SBMA Administrator, as provided by E.O. 340, is ex-officio member and Vice Chairman of the Board.

Aside from Eisma, Reyes and Siapno will join regular board members Chairman Martin B. Diño, Benny Antiporda, Stefani C. Saño, Ma. Cecilia Bobadilla-Bitare, Rogelio G. Roque and Tomas F. Lahom.

In can be recalled that SBMA Chairman Martin B. Diño, who assumed his post on Oct. 3, 2016, ignored Escolango’s request to convene the Board, refusing to recognise his (Escolango) designation by the Office of the President as OIC Administrator, a position he insisted was part of his appointment as SBMA Chairman and head of agency.

Duterte’s appointment of Eisma as Administrator in late Dec. 2016 has finally doused cold water on Diño’s obsession to officially hold both positions, although there are still indications that the trouble may not be over yet.

Diño and Eisma appear to be on a collision course as the former continue to perform actions that are under the powers and duties of the administrator while Eisma says the law is clear on the distinction of the functions of both offices.

SBMA is a Government-Owned and Controlled Corporation (GOCC) created by law to run the Subic Bay Freeport, a former US Military base until 1992.

With hundreds of term sheets, new and for renewal contracts and other concerns already piled up, locators are hopeful that things will finally get moving as the board goes into action.

“Finally, business will go on as usual,” Rose B. Baldeo, president of the Subic Bay Freeport Chamber of Commerce & Industry (SBFCCI), told Subic Bay News, “we are looking forward to working with Atty. Eisma.” #

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *