Philippines is Back to Back Rugby Asian Cup Champion

PMMA 1 v TMS "Titans" touch football final Zambales 9s (photo by Marc Leabras)
The Philippines National Rugby League (PNRL) PAL Tamaraws maintained its mastery over Thailand Rugby League Association (TRLA) Thailand Stars with a 46-10 thrashing of the latter.
What made the victory even sweeter was making the feat before a home crowd of over 1,500 local fans who had their first taste of Rugby League at home in the game played at the grounds of the Philippine Merchant Marine Academy (PMMA) in San Narciso, Zambales.
Played in four 20-minute quarters, the Philippies went into the first break leading 16-6 , widening the gap to 22-10 in the second quarter going into the second half.
Thailand failed to score through the 3rd before finally succumbing to the superior Philippines Team 10-46 by the end of the game, with the latter emerging as back to back Asian Cup Champion.
The PNRL PAL Tamaraws squad was composed of Luke Srama, team captain; Glenn Power, Ashley Black; Fred Colina; Will Dreves; Andrew Everingham; Chris Everingham; Robby Gerathy; Richard Goodwin; Dennis Gordon; Kevin Gordon; Mica Hines; Daniel Krucia; Sean Lynch; Arwin Marcus; Rene Payne; Marc Russell; Paul Sheedy; Ned Stephenson; and Kyle Weh.
The PNRL is a non-stock, non-profit volunteer organization which is the governing body of Rugby League Football in the Philippines.
The Philippines is an observer member of both the Asia-Pacific Rugby League Confederation (APRLC) and the Rugby League International Federation (RLIF).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *